Cameron Williams elected president of America's Newspapers; 11 directors elected to board


Cameron Nutting Williams, regional publisher and chief revenue officer of Ogden Newspapers, was elected president of America's Newspapers this morning during the Senior Leadership Conference.

In her remarks to the membership, Williams noted the challenges the association has met since it was formed three years ago and said she is so proud of the work that has been done — "whether it was spinning up brand new year-round curriculums, or small virtual group sessions for peer newspaper executives to meet and share at a time when seeing our colleagues was so needed, or diving head first into lobbying efforts that have radically reshaped the visibility this industry and our members have on Capitol Hill."

At every step, she said, the focus remained on delivering sensible solutions and direct ROI for members.

"Through all of that," she said, "I believe America’s Newspapers is delivering on the most important promise we made in 2019: That we would form a home, a resting place, a supportive platform dedicated entirely to our members and their future. The tradition of real fellowship between our members remains as strong as ever, and I am grateful for that."

In addition to Williams, the following officers were elected for 2022-23:

Heidi Wright, vice president
  • Vice President: Heidi Wright, COO of EO Media Group and publisher of The Bulletin, Bend, Oregon
  • Treasurer:  Leonard Woolsey, president of Southern Newspapers and president and publisher of The Daily News, Galveston, Texas
Leonard Woolsey, treasurer

 Nat Lea, president and CEO of WEHCO Media, Little Rock, Arkansas, becomes immediate past president.

Board of Directors

Six industry executives were elected to second three-year terms on the board of directors:

  • John Bussian, attorney, The Bussian Law Firm, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Matt McMillan, CEO, Press Publications, White Bear Lake, Minnesota
  • James Paxton, president and CEO, Paxton Media Group
  • John Rung, president and CEO, Shaw Media, Crystal Lake, Illinois
  • Jason Taylor, president, Gannett Ventures, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Judi Terzotis, president and publisher, The Times-Picayune | Advocate, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Five additional industry executives were elected to initial three-year terms on the board:

  • David Dunn-Rankin, president, D-R Media, Venice, Florida
  • Conan Gallaty, chairman and CEO, Tampa Bay Times, St. Petersburg, Florida
  • Michael G. Kane, senior vice president/strategic initiatives and operations, Gannett, Wilmington, Delaware
  • Nick Monico, chief operating officer, Adams Publishing Group, Gahanna, Ohio
  • Francis Wick, CEO, Wick Communications, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Directors remaining on the board include:

  • Scott Champion, CEO, Champion Media Company, Mooresville, North Carolina
  • Michael Fishman, publisher, Citizen Tribune, Morristown, Tennessee
  • Mike Gebhart, president and CEO, Southern Community Newspapers, Lawrenceville, Georgia
  • Donna Gordon, vice president, national and call center advertising, McClatchy
  • Matthew Gray, senior vice president and general counsel, Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc., Montgomery, Alabama
  • Brian Jarvis, president, WV News, Clarksburg, West Virginia
  • Ted McGrew, vice president, Newspaper Segment, Kodak, Carmel, Indiana
  • Camille Olson, partner, Seyfarth Shaw, Chicago, Illinois
  • Tim Prince, senior vice president, Boone Newspapers, Columbiana, Alabama
  • Emily Walsh, publisher, Observer Media Group, Sarasota, Florida

Williams noted that America's Newspapers represents 1,653 publications in all 50 states, plus Canada and Guam. "That's pretty impressive," she said.

She pledged that the leadership team that makes up America's Newspapers will continue to be "brazenly optimistic about the future of our business, because we must be, because it is essential to the future of our country and the communities that depend on each and every one of you to deliver on our promises."


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here